Self Saturday-Perks of being me

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Did you sing that while reading it? I bet you did. By ‘wonderful time’, I’m talking about the end of the year, actually. 2016 is finally ending. Phew! I know that the 2016 joke has been around for months but if you really do a quick recap of the year and compare it with those of the other years you’ve survived, it’s really tragic. There were more political issues, natural disasters and celebrity deaths than I could handle. Not that I was a fan of any of those celebrities – I just gauged others’ reactions to the news and copied them to seem cooler.

One thing that I did care about was the start of the end of my teenage years. I’m eighteen now, and there’s only two years before I turn twenty. Ruinous, I say. I used to long for adulthood when I was a child but not so much now. It’s complicated and I want to savour every day until the last second of my nineteenth year. Better not think about it. The speed at which time passes by scares me.

I digress.

To end this year on a positive note, I think I should start a tag here called ‘Perks of being me’. This has two reasons: to build self-confidence and to help others build self-confidence. Because if there’s one thing I’ve done a lot this year is meet many people and hear many life stories, and there are hardly a few who don’t want to change a few things about themselves. Wait, no. Hardly a few who matter, maybe? The Dr. Phil Show has been introducing me to all kinds of people with an over-saturation of confidence sometimes. Anyway, with this tag, I want to write a post highlighting the aspects of myself that I don’t like in a positive manner so that anyone having the same insecurity can see the good sides of it, really. I’m sure everyone can get creative with that.

  1. My 5’4″ self: I mean, why not? Try beating me at a game of hide-and-seek when I can squeeze or crouch into every nook and cranny of the house. And a game of limbo because I wouldn’t need to contort long limbs to slip under the bar! Not that playing limbo is of any use in life but still. And if I ever become a secret agent – which is something everyone has definitely dreamt of at least once obviously – I can easily hide in the midst of crowds while a giraffe-like person could easily be spotted. Secret agencies, hire me. *wink wink*
  2. My tan skin: Proves that I’ve got a healthy amount of melanin and Vitamin D. I don’t look like a vampire right when I wake up everyday. I just have to hear a few racist comments but I think it’s a fair trade. I don’t back down from those comments anyway. Speaking of which…
  3. My debating habit: My debate skills not that good, but I do love debating about topics I care about. I’m comparatively more open-minded in my society and, despite usually having an unpopular opinion, I don’t hesitate to share my point of view on a topic, whether it be with people younger than me or older than me. Although some elders do take it as a sign of disrespect, sometimes… Eh, it’s all good.
  4. Blurry eyesight: Is it really a surprise that I don’t have 20/20 vision? In the midst of all the juggling between today’s technologies, there’s hardly anyone with proper eyesight. If you’re one of them, you’ve got terrible luck! Imagine waking from a sleep, facing up, and seeing a creepy monster’s face inches away from yours. Horrifying! Unless you absolutely love monsters, in which case, I won’t judge you because some of them can be cute. I mean, Monsters Inc. ‘Nuff said, right? I digress again. So, imagine the same scenario in 240p. No one will get scared when the monster’s face is so blurry that it just looks like a weird-flavoured cotton candy. As a person who has constant wild imagination going on, this is perfect.
  5. Sympathetic nature: If someone’s being bullied or picked on, I can’t just stand and do nothing. I always meddle in those affairs without knowing who’s in the right and who’s in the wrong, or without noticing how bulky the person I’m up against is. Uh, surely my third grade Karate classes will help me in these cases, right?

There are only five for now. I type ‘only’ because I’ve been through stages where I’ve been through a lot of insecurities, and I’m not a special snowflake. I hope you, the person reading this, will take this time to think about the positive aspects about yourself. Oh, although, don’t use this as an excuse for any racist, sexist, gender-ist( and all those ist out there) opinions and comments.

Oh God, I didn’t encourage the wrong people, did I?

Welp, I’m out. I deeply apologize for the unusual optimism and lack of sarcasm. I surprise myself at times. 2016 has been… meh. Hope we all have a nice new year!

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Self Saturday-Perks of being me

  1. Andy 69 January 31, 2017 at 2:05 pm Reply

    You’re only 5’4…..haah I’m 5’8. Take that bruh *dances like a chicken*

    Like

    • Now, Lets talk February 16, 2017 at 11:40 pm Reply

      5’4″ is cute! And don’t dance like a chicken :\ That’s weird.

      Like

Leave a Reply

